GardenDishes

dishin' the DIRT on hit and myth landscaping

YOU CAN GROW THAT! POTATOES

Don't let taters-gone-native go to waste!

I can be lazy.

While that statement sounds very much like I AM lazy, the distinction is an important one.  For most of my life, it’s been difficult for me to even sit still, much less completely veg out.  Those days are over. Has my personality morphed, choleric gone phlegmatic?  Probably not.  When it comes to continuous, never-ending chores – such as house or yard work – my conscience has simply relaxed at the expense of years.  It seems my friend Brenda Beust Smith, the self-proclaimed LAZY GARDENER, must have arrived at the prescribed age of ease-allowance before I did, robbing me of the title.

Combine my newfound laissez-faire chore blinders, an obnoxious obsession for recycling (stemming more from being cheap AND creative than any environmental crusade), and a desire to buck time-tested gardening rules and what do you get?

The sum is often disaster. Last week’s discovery, however, will be dinner tomorrow night: plenty of yummy new potatoes.

Suppertime spuds? DIG IT!

HIT: sprouted potatoes beg to be planted!

Seed potatoes should be bought and then planted early in spring, according to the rules here in my part of Texas. My version?  Smelled something funny in the pantry after returning from vacation in October, my nose leading me to a bag of organic new potatoes pushed behind a cereal box. They weren’t so new anymore.  Already sprouted, I tucked them – untreated and uncut – into my garden after yanking my frost-bitten tomatoes out.  So here it is, 1st week of March, and my potatoes are faster food than a crowded drive-through at dinner-time.  Just pop them into a few cups of boiling water in my pressure cooker, top with a bit of olive oil, sea salt and rosemary sprigs and serve.  Sounds even lazier than a trip under the golden arches, huh?  Just sit and wait for the timer to go off!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “YOU CAN GROW THAT! POTATOES

  1. Really..I never would have thought of that..but I have found a stinky mess from time to time..enjoyed this post…

  2. Thank you, Benita! Glad you enjoyed. And you are oh-so-right about potatoes. Since you are such a recipe cache, do you have a potato soup one to share?

  3. I know, almost-cuzzin. Seems like bragging that I’m walking out into 70 degrees to harvest my meal, doesn’t it? Remind me in August when you are enjoying lovely weather and I’m whining about the heat!

  4. Oh, Cherie, I come from the land of potatoes – Aroostook County in northern Maine. There’s nothing like eating new potatoes from one’s garden!
    I am envious. We still have snow on the ground way up here!
    I won’t plant potatoes for months… but I will.
    It is so worth it.
    ENJOY!

  5. LOL! It’s true: potatoes will adapt to grow as easily as a cat to a barn full of mice. Nice post and writing!

Leave a Reply

